Vehicular Assault Attorney
Vehicular assault charges are a serious offense in Colorado. You can be charged with this felony offense when you drive in a “reckless manner or under the influence of alcohol and/ or drugs” and proceed to “causing a serious bodily injury to another person” as the result of your driving. Felony charges can lead to severe penalties without the legal counsel of a qualified criminal defense attorney.
Under the Colorado Revised Statute 18-3-205, “serious bodily injury” describes injury with a substantial risk of serious permanent disfigurement, death, or functional loss of any organ or part of the body. It may also be an injury that involves breaks, fractures, or burns “of the second or third degree.” Serious bodily injuries carry devastating consequences for victims, which is why a defendant often faces felony charges for these events.
Penalties for Vehicular Assault
If you have been arrested for the crime of vehicular assault, you should know what penalties you may face if convicted. Vehicular assault that stems from reckless driving without alcohol involvement is a Class 5 Felony offense. You can expect either or both of the following penalties:
- 1 to 3 years in a state prison
- A fine of $1000 to $100,000
When vehicular assault is the direct result of a DUI, the offense is elevated from a Class 5 to a Class 4 Felony. This means that you can expect:
- 2-6 years in a state prison and/ or
- A $2,000 to $500,000 fine
Defending the Criminally Accused
You cannot face DUI Vehicular Assault charges alone. DUI litigation is complex, requiring years of experience to develop a strong and compelling case. Attorney Miller Leonard has defended the criminally accused for over 17 years. Contact him today for a consultation: 720-613-8783.
Vehicular homicide cases are taken just as seriously as murder cases by the Colorado courts.